FIFAe World Cup Heads Back to London

FIFAe World Cup Heads Back to London

Having been cancelled last year due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the FIFAe World Cup will return in 2021 and be hosted for the fourth time in a row by London.

World Cup to be Staged in August

After its brief hiatus, the EA Sports FIFA 21 Global Series reaches its finale across August 6th to August 8th, 2021. Then, the top individual EA Sports FIFA 21 players will compete across three days, with the 32 best players worldwide battling it out for the vaunted FIFAe World Cup 2021 Trophy.

The last tournament was staged in 2019, when ‘MoAuba’, or simply Mohammed Harkous of Germany, took the trophy, and now the top global players reconvene to give it another go.

There will be four groups, each containing eight players, with every game played, counting towards the table of points. The best four players from each group qualify for the knockout stage of the tournament.

As long as England’s road to unlocking the country is successful by then, August’s tournament represents another step forward following the various shutdowns endured over the last year or so.

FIFAe World Cup’s Cross-Console Format

In the build-up to the tournament, players worldwide look to qualify using whatever console they have at home, taking part in the EA Sports FIFA 21 Global Series Playoffs. Those who get to the World Cup, however, will be enjoying a cross-console tournament. The FIFAe World Cup is played across both Xbox and PlayStation consoles.

For every match between players, one game is played on a PlayStation console, and another is played on Xbox. This happens during the whole tournament, creating more and more entertainment and debate regarding which console is better.

In the knockout stages, from the round of 16 up to the final, the tournament reaches huge excitement. At this point, those remaining can dream of getting hold of the first prize – a massive $250,000. This is from an overall prize pool of some $500,000.

In the coming days and weeks, players begin the journey by attempting to qualify during the playoff series, all roads leading once again to London.

About the FIFAe World Cup

Taking out the fact that it could not be staged in 2020, the FIFAe World Cup is an annual competition organised by football’s world governing body, FIFA, alongside gaming giants EA Sports.

Players from anywhere can log on and look to qualify via the EA Sports FIFA Global Series for the Grand Final of the FIFAe World Cup. Ultimately, players are attempting to be crowned FIFAe World Champion, win a huge cash prize, and take a trip to The Best FIFA Football Awards.

To qualify, players have to compete in regionally-focused online tournaments. The structure means players worldwide get the chance to qualify for the FIFAe World Cup at the playoffs that occur at the end of the season.

The first tournament was held back in 2004 in Zurich, with London, Amsterdam, Berlin, Barcelona (twice), Los Angeles, Dubai, Madrid, Rio de Janeiro, Munich, and New York all taking a turn at hosting. From 2017 however, London took over hosting on a more permanent basis, staging the next three tournaments in a row.

After its hiatus, the FIFAe World Cup is now back in London once again in August.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *